DP History – A life in the service of school and politics

René Hübsch was born on January 13, 1937 in the rue de Warker in Ettelbruck. Only 7 months later, his father died, who had a business as a plasterer. In fact, René was supposed to learn the craftsmanship of painter. But the boy is so good in school that the teacher insists on sending him to high school.

“HAIL MOSCOW”

Little René did not see much of the war. But one prank he can still remember well. In the 1st school year (end of 1943) the Hitler greeting is still required in the morning. However, one day René and his colleague feel strong enough to replace “Hail H.” with a “Hail Moscow”. Both had heard rumors that the Russians were attacking the German army. And the teacher smiled secretly…

After his father’s death, René’s mother worked as a tailor. He has fond memories of his youth. Much like his time at Diekirch College: “A new world opened up for me.” René starts in the modern section, but quickly switches to classical. Latin will be one of his great passions.

JACQUES SANTER AND BEN FAYOT

After the Course in the city, the travel continues to the Sorbonne in Paris. Again new impressions and many new acquaintances: “I studied among others with Jacques Santer and Ben Fayot.” René lives in Biermans and benefits from the cultural diversity of the French capital. He reads a lot and goes to the cinema once a week. At that time René Hübsch drove home twice a quarter; also to get the laundry done…

He finances his studies with an interest-free loan from the state. When he wanted to repay the money later, however, the loan became a subsidy. “Decades later, I heard that the Ministry of Education had messed up the files while moving. In order not to be blamed, they simply converted the loan into a subsidy.”

MOLITOR VS WINTER

After graduating from high school, René Hübsch served in the army. As it turned out, the directors Pierre Winter (Athénée) and Ben Molitor (Diekirch) were very interested in the future teacher. “I even interrupted my military service for four weeks to be a substitute teacher at the Athénée in Luxembourg-city.” But René desperately wanted to go to Diekirch, where he eventually taught Latin, French and sometimes history (1962-1979).

In 1974, René Hübsch entered the parliamentary elections with the DP. “I am a devout person, but I had a personal quarrel with Caritas and after that my enthusiasm for the church and its organizations calmed down,” René recalls. He becomes a replacement candidate and could enter parliament in 1977. “But I had been a deputy director for barely 3 months, I did not want to leave again. And I would have lost a third of my salary too. With a family of 3 girls, I said no.”

“I COULD RELY ON YOU”

Two years later, this was no longer an issue, and René was elected second on the North list. Following the tough anti-crisis measures and the socio-political reforms of the Thorn-Vouel/Berg government, it was a very tough election campaign against an aggressive CSV. “The balance sheet of DP-LSAP was not always easy to defend, especially in the North.”

From his time as a Member of Parliament, René remembers in particular the reform of the municipal law. And the problems that the people at the time addressed to their deputies. Recently, an acquaintance complimented him on this: “You were the only one who helped me, I could rely on you.”

UNSTOPPABLE

In 1989, René Hübsch wasn’t reelected, so he then worked halftime as a second deputy director in the high school and halftime in the ministry of Education. For the last 7 years of his professional career, he was the first director of the adult education service.

René Hübsch was a member of the city council in Erpeldange for 36 years, 20 of them as alderman. His masterpiece is the measures against the floods in Ingeldorf, which proved themselves this summer. René is still well-informed about politics: “I know very well.” At the moment, however, he is not well on foot. He broke his hip, but is on the road to recovery. He also regularly visits the Sûre with a good friend. One is walking and the other is riding a special scooter. René Hübsch is unstoppable…

Share:

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on email
Email
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp

More News

Atert-Wark – the new local government of the DP in the north of the country

The municipality of Mertzig, with its mayor Mike Poiré, has joined the local government of Redange and the merger section Atert-Wark has been formed. Until 2020 the municipality of Mertzig was part of the “Nordstad” local section.

The former Redange section has been working together with the Rambrouch section for a very long time. For this reason, the Rambrouch section with its new president will also be presented.

read more...
Corinne Cahen

Interview with the Minister for Family Affairs Corinne Cahen

For the most part, the residents are doing well. However, I get told every day by older people that they never want to be imprisoned again. I can understand that very well. We will therefore do everything in our power to ensure that everyone can live their lives independently, including in retirement and care homes.

read more...

DP History – Ein Leben im Dienst von Schule und Politik

René Hübsch wurde am 13. Januar 1937 in der rue de Warken in Ettelbruck geboren. Nur sieben Monate später starb sein Vater, der als Stuckateur tätig war. Eigentlich sollte René das Maler-Handwerk lernen, aber der Junge ist in der Schule so gut, dass der Lehrer darauf besteht, ihn aufs Lyzeum zu schicken.

„Heil Moskau“

Der kleine René hat vom Krieg nicht viel mitgekriegt. An eine Sache kann er sich noch gut erinnern. Im Ersten Schuljahr (Ende 1943) wird morgens noch der Hitlergruß verlangt. Doch eines Tages fühlen sich René und sein Freund stark genug, „Heil H.“ durch ein „Heil Moskau“ zu ersetzen. Beide hatten mitgekriegt, dass die Russen die deutsche Armee heftig angriffen. Und der Lehrer lächelte heimlich…

Nach dem Tod seines Vaters arbeitete Renés Mutter als Näherin. Er hat gute Erinnerungen an seine Jugend. Ähnlich wie an seiner Zeit im Diekircher Lyzeum: „Da hat sich für mich eine neue Welt aufgetan.“ René beginnt in der ‚Section moderne‘, wechselt aber schnell zur ‚classique‘. Latein sollte eine seiner großen Leidenschaften werden.

Jacques Santer und Ben Fayot

Nach dem ‚Cours‘ in der Hauptstadt geht es an die Sorbonne in Paris. Wieder neue Eindrücke und viele neue Bekanntschaften: „Ich habe unter anderem zusammen mit Jacques Santer und Ben Fayot studiert.“ René lebt im ‚Biermans‘ und profitiert von der kulturellen Vielfalt der französischen Hauptstadt. Er liest viel und geht einmal die Woche ins Kino. René Hübsch fuhr damals zweimal im Trimester nach Hause – auch wegen der Wäsche…

Sein Studium finanziert er mit einem zinslosen Darlehen des Staates. Als er jedoch das Geld später zurückzahlen wollte, wurde aus dem Darlehen ein Zuschuss. „Jahrzehnte später hörte ich, dass das Bildungsministerium die Akten beim Umzug verräumt hatte. Um sich keine Blöße zu geben, haben sie aus dem Kredit einfach einen Zuschuss gemacht.”

Molitor versus Winter

Nach dem Studium leistet René Hübsch seinen Wehrdienst ab. Wie sich herausstellte, zeigten sich die Direktoren Pierre Winter (Atheneum) und Ben Molitor (Diekirch) sehr interessiert an dem zukünftigen Gymnasiallehrer. „Ich habe sogar meinen Militärdienst für vier Wochen unterbrochen, um im Atheneum Vertretungsstunden zu geben.“ Aber René wollte unbedingt nach Diekirch, wo er schließlich Latein, Französisch und nebenbei Geschichte (1962-1979) unterrichtete.

1974 trat René Hübsch mit der DP bei den Parlamentswahlen an. „Ich bin ein gläubiger Mensch, hatte aber einen persönlichen Streit mit der Caritas, danach hat sich meine Begeisterung für die Kirche und ihre Organisationen gelegt”, erinnert er sich. Er wird Ersatzkandidat und könnte 1977 nachrücken „Aber ich war erst drei Monate stellvertretender Direktor, ich wollte nicht wieder gehen. Und ich hätte auch ein Drittel meines Gehalts verloren. Mit einer Familie mit drei Mädchen habe ich dann nein gesagt.“

„Auf dich konnte ich mich verlassen“

Zwei Jahre später war das kein Thema mehr und René wurde Zweitgewählter auf der Nordliste der DP. Nach den harten Anti-Krisen-Maßnahmen und den gesellschaftspolitischen Reformen der Regierung Thorn-Vouel/Berg gab es einen sehr harten Wahlkampf gegen eine aggressive CSV. „Die Bilanz der DP-LSAP (Regierung) war gerade im Norden nicht immer leicht zu verteidigen.“

Aus seiner Zeit als Abgeordneter erinnert sich René insbesondere an die Reform des Gemeinderechts. Und an die Probleme, die die Leute damals an ihre Abgeordneten herantrugen. Kürzlich machte ihm ein Bekannter dazu noch ein Kompliment: „Du warst der Einzige, der mir geholfen hat. Auf dich konnte ich mich verlassen.“

Nicht zu bremsen

1989 wurde René Hübsch nicht mehr in die ‚Chamber‘ gewählt und arbeitete danach halb als zweiter stellvertretender Direktor im Lyzeum und halb im Ministerium. In den letzten sieben Jahren seiner beruflichen Laufbahn war er Direktor des Amtes für Erwachsenenbildung.

René Hübsch war 36 Jahre Gemeinderat in Erpeldingen, davon 20 Jahre als Schöffe. Sein Meisterstück sind die Maßnahmen gegen das Hochwasser in Ingeldorf, die sich in diesem Sommer bewährt haben. Über Politik ist René noch immer bestens informiert: „Ich kenne mich immer noch aus!“ Zu Fuß sei er derzeit allerdings nicht gut unterwegs. Er habe sich die Hüfte gebrochen, sei aber auf dem Weg der Besserung. Außerdem macht er regelmäßig Touren mit einem guten Freund entlang der Sauer. Einer geht zu Fuß und der andere fährt einen speziellen Roller. René Hübsch ist nicht zu bremsen…

Teilen:

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on email
Email
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp

Weitere News

Atert- Wark – die neue DP-Sektion im Norden

Die DP-Mitglieder aus der Gemeinde Mertzig haben sich unter Führung von Bürgermeister Mike Poiré der Sektion Redange angeschlossen, so ist die Fusionssektion Atert-Wark entstanden. Bis 2020 gehörten die Liberalen der Gemeinde Mertzig zur Sektion Nordstad.

Die bisherige Sektion Redingen hat seit jeher mit der Sektion Rambrouch zusammengearbeitet. In der Folge stellen wir hier auch diese Sektion und ihren neuen Präsidenten vor.

weiterlesen...
Corinne Cahen

Interview mit der Familienministerin Corinne Cahen

In den meisten Fällen geht es den Bewohnern gut. Allerdings höre ich jeden Tag von älteren Menschen, dass sie nie wieder eingesperrt werden wollen. Das kann ich sehr gut verstehen. Wir werden deshalb alles dafür tun, dass alle Menschen auch in Alten- und Pflegeheimen ein selbstbestimmtes Leben führen können.

weiterlesen...