Spotlight: Michael Agostini

In the spotlight of the third edition of the DP magazine is the president of the “Young Democrats”, Michael Agostini.

We talked to the 31-year-old civil engineer about the JDL, his new home in Esch and his political priorities.

Michael, you’ve been at the helm of the JDL since 2019. What are your priorities as President and what is your interim balance?

MA: First of all, I’m glad I can count on a dynamic team. The JDL has expanded its reach over the last year and gained many young members. That is not self-evident in Covid’s times. We have set up several working groups in which we deal with four major issues. These include digitalisation, environmental and climate protection, equal opportunities and healthcare. The work is progressing well. That makes me optimistic to pull with a clear catalog of demands for the 2023 Super Election Year.

“The JDL wants to use the opportunities provided by the digitalisation.”

Michael Agostini

For example, you claim a right to telework?

MA: Exactly, the corona crisis and more specifically the lockdown should also have convinced the last person that telework has many benefits. For many years, the JDL has been committed to the consistent support of the Home Office, because the advantages are obvious: It gives employees more flexibility to reconcile family and work, traffic on our main traffic axes decreases and there are in the long run also fewer offices in the city occupied. This could also benefit the village life in our communities, because more people would be at home again.

The JDL has recently also voted in favor of e-voting.

MA: Yes, we are taking up the permanent digitalisation of our society here. E-voting would significantly simplify elections. Not only would the way to the polling station disappear, but the digital choice would also make life easier for many citizens abroad. The electronic vote would meanwhile help to significantly reduce the rate of invalid ballot papers. E-voting should be an additional opportunity to cast your vote. Of course, the classic ballot paper and the postal vote should not be abolished. Since we are aware that this is a sensitive subject, we should not overdo it. Therefore, the JDL calls for the introduction of e-voting only for the next parliamentary elections of 2028. So there remains enough time to set up a reliable system.

You are also a member of the DP section of Esch. Where does the shoe pinch in Esch?

MA: When I moved to Esch four years ago, it was clear to me that I was going to get involved locally. The DP has managed to achieve a great result in the last municipal elections. With Pim Knaff and Daliah Scholl, we have engaged and dynamic representatives in the council of aldermen and the city council. One of the priorities is surely the life of the Alzette road and the connection of Esch to the city of Luxembourg. The announced tram between the two largest cities, as well as new neighborhoods like Esch-Schifflange or the Rout Lëns, will once again make Esch a dynamic Minette metropolis with a high quality of life.

Deelen:

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on email
Email
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp

Weider Artikelen

Atert-Wark – the new local government of the DP in the north of the country

The municipality of Mertzig, with its mayor Mike Poiré, has joined the local government of Redange and the merger section Atert-Wark has been formed. Until 2020 the municipality of Mertzig was part of the “Nordstad” local section.

The former Redange section has been working together with the Rambrouch section for a very long time. For this reason, the Rambrouch section with its new president will also be presented.

Corinne Cahen

Interview with the Minister for Family Affairs Corinne Cahen

For the most part, the residents are doing well. However, I get told every day by older people that they never want to be imprisoned again. I can understand that very well. We will therefore do everything in our power to ensure that everyone can live their lives independently, including in retirement and care homes.

More renaturalisation and an improved warning system

The floods of the summer have hit our country unexpectedly. In comparison to neighboring countries, Luxembourg had the chance that no one was injured. However, dramatic scenes unfolded here as well, and the water caused enormous damage. All of this in addition to a corona crisis which, on its own, is already affecting many people and companies.

Spotlight: Michael Agostini

Im Spotlight der dritten Ausgabe des DP-Magazins steht der Präsident der „Jonk Demokraten“, Michael Agostini.

Wir haben uns mit dem 31-jährigen Bauingenieur über die JDL, seine neue Heimat in Esch und seine politischen Prioritäten unterhalten.

Michael, du bist seit 2019 an der Spitze der JDL. Welche Prioritäten hast du dir als Präsident gesetzt und wie sieht deine Zwischenbilanz aus?

MA: Zunächst einmal bin ich froh, dass ich auf ein dynamisches Team zählen kann. Die JDL hat sich im letzten Jahr breiter aufgestellt und viele junge Mitglieder gewonnen. Das ist in Covid-Zeiten nicht selbstverständlich. Wir haben mehrere Arbeitsgruppen eingerichtet, in denen wir uns mit vier Hauptthemen befassen. Dazu gehören Digitalisierung, Umwelt- und Klimaschutz, Chancengleichheit und Gesundheitsversorgung. Die Arbeit kommt gut voran. Es stimmt mich optimistisch, eine Liste der Forderungen für das Superwahljahr 2023 erstellen zu können.

„Die JDL will die Chancen der Digitalisierung nutzen“

Michael Agostini

Die JDL fordert beispielsweise ein Recht auf Telearbeit?

MA: Genau, die Corona-Krise und insbesondere der Lockdown sollten auch den Letzten überzeugt haben, dass Telearbeit viele Vorteile hat. Die JDL engagiert sich seit vielen Jahren für die konsequente Förderung des Home Office, da die Vorteile auf der Hand liegen: Sie bietet den Mitarbeitern mehr Flexibilität, um Familie und Arbeit unter einem Hut zu bekommen, der Verkehr auf unseren Hauptverkehrsachsen nimmt ab und es gibt auf lange Sicht auch weniger Büros in der Stadt. Dies könnte auch dem Dorfleben in unseren Gemeinden zugute kommen, da wieder mehr Menschen zu Hause wären.

Die JDL hat sich kürzlich auch für E-Voting ausgesprochen.

MA: Ja, wir greifen hier die permanente Digitalisierung unserer Gesellschaft auf. E-Voting würde Wahlen erheblich vereinfachen. Der Weg zum Wahllokal würde nicht nur verschwinden, sondern die digitale Abstimmung würde auch vielen Bürgern im Ausland das Leben erleichtern. Die elektronische Abstimmung würde auch dazu beitragen, die Zahl ungültiger Stimmzettel erheblich zu senken. E-Voting sollte eine zusätzliche Möglichkeit sein, seine Stimme abgeben zu können. Natürlich sollten der klassische Stimmzettel und die Briefwahl nicht abgeschafft werden. Da wir uns jedoch bewusst sind, dass dies ein sensibles Thema ist, sollten wir nichts überstürzen. Daher fordert die JDL die Einführung eines E-Voting erst für die übernächsten Parlamentswahlen im Jahr 2028. Es bliebe also genügend Zeit, um ein zuverlässiges System einzurichten.

Du bist auch Mitglied der Escher DP-Sektion. Wo drückt der Schuh in Esch?

MA: Als ich vor vier Jahren nach Esch zog, war mir klar, dass ich mich vor Ort engagieren würde. Die DP hat es geschafft, bei den letzten Kommunalwahlen ein großartiges Ergebnis zu erzielen. Mit Pim Knaff und Daliah Scholl haben wir engagierte und dynamische Vertreter im Schöffen- und Gemeinderat. Eine der Prioritäten wird sicherlich die Wiederbelebung der Alzette-Straße und die Verbindung von Esch mit der Stadt Luxemburg sein. Die angekündigte Straßenbahn zwischen den beiden größten Städten, aber auch neue Stadtteilen auf den Industriebrachen wie Esch-Schifflingen oder „Route Lëns“ werden Esch wieder zur dynamischen Minette-Metropole mit einer hohen Lebensqualität machen.

Deelen:

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on email
Email
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp

Weider Artikelen

Atert- Wark – die neue DP-Sektion im Norden

Die DP-Mitglieder aus der Gemeinde Mertzig haben sich unter Führung von Bürgermeister Mike Poiré der Sektion Redange angeschlossen, so ist die Fusionssektion Atert-Wark entstanden. Bis 2020 gehörten die Liberalen der Gemeinde Mertzig zur Sektion Nordstad.

Die bisherige Sektion Redingen hat seit jeher mit der Sektion Rambrouch zusammengearbeitet. In der Folge stellen wir hier auch diese Sektion und ihren neuen Präsidenten vor.

Corinne Cahen

Interview mit der Familienministerin Corinne Cahen

In den meisten Fällen geht es den Bewohnern gut. Allerdings höre ich jeden Tag von älteren Menschen, dass sie nie wieder eingesperrt werden wollen. Das kann ich sehr gut verstehen. Wir werden deshalb alles dafür tun, dass alle Menschen auch in Alten- und Pflegeheimen ein selbstbestimmtes Leben führen können.

Mehr Renaturierung und ein besseres Warnsystem

Die Überschwemmungen dieses Sommers haben unser Land hart und unerwartet getroffen. Im Vergleich zu den Nachbarländern hatte Luxemburg Glück, dass niemand verletzt wurde. Aber auch hier spielten sich dramatische Szenen ab und das Wasser verursachte enorme Schäden. Zusätzlich zur Pandemie, von der bereits viele Menschen und Unternehmen betroffen sind.